Huntsville Depot and Museum
Hear the rattle of the tracks and the engineer’s whistle as you experience life on the rails in 1860. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Depot served as the local passenger house & the corporate offices for the eastern division of the Memphis & Charleston Railroad. An active passenger station until 1968, the original depot building now stands as a symbol of Huntsville’s transportation history and city growth.
- Huntsville Depot Museum
Wednesday - Saturday 10 A.M.-3 P.M.
* Group rates apply to parties of 15 or more who visit with a scheduled reservation. Minimum fee required.
|Individual Admission **Beginning June 2, 2015**
|Huntsville Depot w/Guided Tour
Click here to view more rates
- 320 Church Street, Huntsville, AL 35801 | 256-564-8100
View Larger Map
- Graffiti done by generations of travelers, Civil War Prisoners, and workmen can be found on the Depot’s third floor.
- The Depot is the oldest depot in Alabama and one of the most significant transportation landmarks in the nation.
- Erected by the Memphis & Charleston Railroad, the brick structure also housed the Eastern Division Headquarters and so was erected with considerably above-average lavishness.
- It is believed that the station had the first inside plumbing in Huntsville.
- In 1971, the Depot was placed on the National Register of Historic Places.
- The Depot was occupied by federal troops as a prison and hospital during the Civil War.
- In 1950, a team of Dr. Werner von Braun’s German scientists passed through the terminal, with ideas of a different type of transportation which would draw international publicity.
- During World War I, World War II and the Spanish-American War, the Depot served as the center of historic movements of troops, poignant farewells and tearful emotions.
- Huntsville’s first ladder fire truck is housed in the Depot’s Autohouse along with a “life net”- a net meant to catch people who jumped from windows.
- Aunt Eunice’s Country Kitchen restaurant is preserved as a museum on the Depot grounds. The inside of the restaurant with its famous Liar’s Table, her walls of autographed pictures, the well-worn vinyl covered benches, her cash register, chair and coffee pot were moved into a yellow clapboard house at the Depot to preserve community heritage.
- Spikes were driven into the Depot windowsills to keep unwanted “loafers” from sitting in the them when the lobby was used as the train station waiting room.
- The last train came through the Depot in 1968.